← Back to Advisory Council

Dr. Kayse Shrum


OSU Center for Health Services

President Shrum is a native Oklahoman. She earned her doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed executive leadership and management training programs at Harvard University and Stanford University.  She joined the medical school faculty at OSU Center for Health Sciences (OSU-CHS) in 2002. In 2011, she was named provost of OSU-CHS and dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. In 2013, she was promoted to her current position as president of OSU-CHS, becoming the youngest and first female president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma. She served in Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt’s cabinet as Secretary of Science and Innovation from March 2019 to June 2020. President Shrum has been recognized for her leadership and contributions to Oklahoma. Her honors include: Osteopathic Founders Foundation 2020 Outstanding Physician, Journal Record 2019 Woman of the Year, 2019 Connors State College Alumni Hall of Fame Inductee, 2018 Newsmaker Award by the Association for Women in Communications Tulsa Chapter and 2014 Oklahoma Osteopathic Association Outstanding & Distinguished Service Award. She lives in Coweta with her husband, Darren. Together, they have 6 children.